Aim of the course is to teach and train the students in Radiological techniques.

Download Syllabus

Duration of Course
2 Years

+2 with science subject or Pre Degree with Physics, Chemistry and Biology

Course Description
The course shall be conducted under department of Radiology of the hospital

1st Year Anatomy
General & Radiation Physics
2nd Year Physics of Imaging & Therapy
Radiography including Dark room Technique



Ionizing radiation has two uses in medicine — for Diagnosis and Therapy.the use of X- rays for examining patients is called diagnostic radiology. When radiation beams are used to treat patients, the procedure is called radiotherapy.
A Radiographer creates medical images of the body to help the diagnosis of illness and injury.he also perform prescribed radiation therapy to patients who are suffering from cancer and other various health disorders.


Diploma in Radiologic tecnology (DRT)course is desigend to train the students, for the effective and safe use of ionizing radiaton in medical field.the syllabus of the cource included Basic Radiation Physics, Anatomy and Physiology,Pathology, Physics of medical imaging and Radiotherapy, Radiologic techniques and radiation oncology

The duration of the course is two years

40% Marks in Science subjects in 10 +2 or equivalent from recognized university or Board of examination with Physics, Chemistry and Biology .A relaxation of 5% marks is allowed to SC/ST candidates.

Age should not be less than 17 years
Selection to the course will be strictly on merit


Government institutions/Colleges

Sl. No Name of college/institution
Number of seats
1 Govt: medical college,Thiruvananthapuram 10
2 PIPMS, Govt Medical College, Thiruvananthapuram( SC / St only) 30
3 Govt: Medical college, Kozhikkode 30
4 Govt: Medical college,Kottayam 15
5 Govt: Medical college, Thrissur 15
6 Govt: Medical college,Thrissur ( SC/ ST only) 20
7 Govt: Medical college, Alappuzha 10
Total seats 130


Private institutions / colleges

Sl.No Name of college/ institution Total seat Merit seat(Govt.seat) Management seats
1 West Fort hospital Thrissur 30 15 15
2 Al Shifa Hospital Perinthalmanna 30 15 15
3 Medical Trust hospital , Ernakulam 30 15 15
4 National Hospital Institute of health sciences,KMCT Hospital building,Mampatta, Kozhikkode 30 15 15
5 Vijaya College of Paramedical Sciences,Kottarakara 30 15 15
6 S.N.Trust Medical Mission ., Kollam 30 15 15
7 Moulana hospital, Perinthalmanna 30 15 15
8 KIMS, Anayara, Thiruvananathapuram 30 15 15
9 Academy of Medical Sciences,Pariyaram, Kannur 30 15 15
10 Sree Gokulam Hospital,Venjaramoodu,Trivandrum 30 15 15
11 Kannur Medical College,Anjarakandy,Kannur. 30 15 15
Total 240 120 120